Second Chance Applications Accepted 12/20/10

Applications will be accepted for the Second Chance Program December 20, 2010.  The Second Chance Program is for individuals with one felony conviction.  The program connects individuals with employers that are willing to hire them.  Contact the office at (901) 545-0343 for more information. The Second Chance Ex-Felon office is located at 444 North Main, Memphis, Tennessee 38105  www.secondchancememphis.org.

Second Chance Program

Q & A

Q: Who qualifies for the Second Chance Program?

A: If you are an ex-offender with one felony conviction, you are eligible to participate in the Second Chance Program.

Q: What types of employment opportunities are available? And, what are the salary ranges?

A: Employment opportunities will be based on skill, work experience and educational level. Salaries will be based on job classification.

Q: Am I guaranteed employment?

A: Employment will be based on available job positions.

Q: How long will the process take before job placement?

A: Completion of the process will take approximately 60 to 90 days, however, completion of the process does not guarantee job placement.

Q: Will the nature of my offense keep me from being considered for the Second Chance Program.

A: Each applicant will be evaluated on an individual basis; however, all first time offenders will be given the opportunity to participate in the Second Chance Program.

Q: If I have a felony conviction and was charged, but not convicted of a second felony offense, would I be eligible for the Second Chance Program.

A: If you are an ex-offender with only one conviction you are eligible to participate in the Second Chance Program.

Q. If I’m currently awaiting a disposition on a pending charge, am I eligible for the Second Chance Program?

A: An applicant will only be eligible for the Second Chance Program after a conviction, and then only if he/she has one conviction.

Q: What is the Second Chance Program?

A: The Second Chance Program is a private/public partnership between the City of Memphis and local businesses that is designed to connect ex-offenders who are willing to work with employers who are willing to hire them.

Q: Would violation of probation exclude me from being eligible for the Second Chance Program?

A: Violation of probation would exclude an applicant from the Second Chance Program based on the nature and classification of the offense. Every incident will be reviewed before a determination is made; however, if an applicant is charged with and convicted of a second felony he/she will be automatically dismissed from the Second Chance Program.

Q: If I would like to apply or find out more information concerning the Second Chance Program, where would I go?

A: Any eligible ex-offenders or prospective employers can contact the office at (901) 545-0343. The Second Chance Ex-Felon office is located at 444 North Main, Memphis, Tennessee 38105.

Q: Must I reside in the City of Memphis to participate in the Second Chance Program?

A: Participants must reside within the boundaries of Shelby County to participate in the Second Chance Program.

TTY 576-6501

2 Comments

Filed under All

2 responses to “Second Chance Applications Accepted 12/20/10

  1. Patricia Henderson

    I’m a graduate of the second chance program , class of 2006 I was hired at city of Memphis In the year 2007 through 2008 through the second chance program. I really enjoyed the postion as accounting clerk-customer service clerk. My contract ended in Aug-2008. I’ve had a few part-time postions at other agencys. I really need you guys help again. I’m a great worker and I would love to work for the city again. I left with a great work record. I’ve applied for quiet a few positons but I haven’t been granted any interviews as of today. I need someone from the second chance program to maybe spondser me. I don’t know who my counsler is.
    Please help.
    Thanks
    Patricia Henderson

  2. Ms. Henderson,
    Contact Second Chance again and see who your case worker is. Also, check with the Career Center which is housed in the same building with Second Chance.
    -Robyn